Member Login

COVID-19 in Russia: Changes to PCR Test Requirements for Travelers from EAEU and CIS Countries

28 Jul 2021 11:00 AM | Deleted user

Dear CERBA Members and Partners,

According to the information kindly provided by CERBA Corporate Member – Intermark Relocation, please be informed of the amendments to the rules of testing for COVID-19 for foreign nationals arriving in Russia from EAEU member countries as well as from several CIS countries and Turkmenistan introduced by the Decree of the Government of Russia No. 1998-р dated 20.07.2021.

What are the changes?

Foreign nationals who are exempt from entry restrictions in accordance with the governmental decree No. 635-р dated 16.03.2020 and who arrive in Russia from countries participating in the “Travel without COVID-19” program via air checkpoints specified in the approved list* must present a negative PCR test result in the form of a QR-code displayed in the “Travel without COVID-19” mobile app.

The test must be conducted within 3 calendar days before entry in Russia in one of certified labs listed in the mobile app.

This rule applies to foreign nationals regardless of their citizenship and comes into force as follows:

  • for persons arriving from EAEU member states (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia) starting from 25 July 2021
  • for persons arriving in Russia from Azerbaijan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenia starting from 1 September 2021

This requirement is not mandatory for persons who transit through these countries on their way to Russia or make a short stop there. Such persons may present a negative PCR test result as usual (as a paper document) provided that they do their test in a 3rd country within 3 calendar days before entry into Russia and also present tickets or boarding passes confirming their full itinerary to Russia.

* The list of checkpoints includes the following Russian airports:

  • Anapa (AAQ)
  • Vladivostok (VVO)
  • Grozny (GRV)
  • Ekaterinburg (SVX)
  • Kazan (KZN)
  • Kaliningrad (KGD)
  • Krasnodar (KRR)
  • Krasnoyarsk (KJA)
  • Moscow (SVO, VKO, DME)
  • Nizhnekamsk (NBC)
  • Novosibirsk (OVB)
  • Zhukovsky (CKL)
  • Rostov-on-Don (ROV)
  • Samara (KUF)
  • Saint-Petersburg (LED)
  • Sochi (AER)
  • Ufa (UFA)
  • Chkalovsky (ZIA)

NB! Foreign nationals who arrive in Russia from any other countries or those who arrive from the specified countries but do so via checkpoints other than listed may confirm their negative PCR test result by a paper document as before.


You can read an original version here.